Arkansas is known as the ‘Natural State,’ but if you’re up against a fierce divorce case in Arkansas, it might also take on the namesake of the ‘Bear State.’ Divorce in Arkansas is known as Absolute Divorce and Divorce from the Bonds of Matrimony.
Arkansas divorce requires you or your spouse to have been a resident of Arkansas for at least 60 days before filing for the divorce, and three full months of residency before the final judgment granting the divorce is made.1
Arkansas divorce laws do not provide for a no-fault divorce. This means there must be a valid reason for the petition. However, if the couple separated and has lived separately for a continuous period of 18 months or more, it creates ground for divorce in Arkansas. Other grounds include impotence, adultery, cruel treatment, felony conviction, incurable insanity, lack of support, humiliation, and drunkenness.2
Arkansas is an equitable division state. At the time the divorce decree is entered, all marital property shall be divided 50/50 to each party unless the court finds the property to be inequitable.3
1 Ark. Code § 9-12-307(a) (1) (A)
2 Ark. Code § 9-12-301(b)
3 Ark. Code § 9-12-315
© 2012 - 2022 Divorce Mistakes Network, LLC