Divorce in Michigan

Michigan is nicknamed “The Water Winter Wonderland” and every Michigan divorce process is unique for every family.

To obtain a divorce in Michigan, you or your spouse must have lived in Michigan for at least 180 days before filing the petition. Besides, either party must have lived in the county where the petition is filed 10 days immediately before filing for divorce.1 If none of you has lived in the county for at least 10 days, you can still file in that or any other county if all these are true:

  1. Your spouse wasn’t born or isn’t a citizen of the United States
  2. Both of you have a child under the age of 18 
  3. The judge believes the child would be at risk if taken outside the U.S. by your spouse2

Michigan is exclusively a no-fault divorce state and the only acceptable reason is “an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage.”2

Michigan is an equitable distribution property state, and assets acquired during and before the marriage can be subject to division. Michigan divorce laws attempt to divide marital property fairly and equitably. Michigan courts will also consider contributions to a partner’s education.3

1M.C.L.A. § 552.9(1,2)

2M.C.L.A. § 552.6(1)

3M.C.L.A. § 552.18,23