pinterest tag
Home   »   Find a Divorce Lawyer Near Me   »   Divorce in North Dakota

Divorce in North Dakota

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pocket
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on print
Share on email

North Dakota is nicknamed the Peace Garden State, but when facing off with a nasty ex, it may also take on the name the Roughrider State.

To file for divorce in North Dakota, you (plaintiff) must have resided in North Dakota for at least six months.1

North Dakota is both a fault and no-fault divorce state. To obtain a no-fault divorce, you have to file for “irreconcilable differences.” Fault-based grounds for divorce in North Dakota include adultery, desertion, willful neglect, extreme cruelty, abuse of alcohol and controlled substances, or felony conviction.2

North Dakota is an equitable distribution state, and only property acquired during the marriage is subject to division. The court will attempt to divide marital property in a manner that is both fair and equitable for both parties.3

North Dakota Coaching Partners

Financial Help in North Dakota

1N.D.C.C. § 14-07-07

2N.D.C.C. § 14-05-08

3N.D. CENTURY CODE ANN. § 14-05-24

Build Your Team & Dominate Your Divorce

Grab Your Guide to DIVORCE DOMINATION Today
and Get Started for FREE Right Now!


No representation is made that the quality of the legal services, advertised here, to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any advice from this website or collateral information viewed or downloaded should not be a replacement for legal or counseling services. Any persons giving legal or counseling advice must be identified with their credentials & diligence by the user should be exercised when deciding to work with a professional who advertises on this site. It is your responsibility upon using this site to review all the policies and terms of this site from the links below. We are not a law firm nor a counseling service and do not provide professional instruction, recommendations, or advice about your rights, remedies, or options for your divorce situation.

© 2012 - 2021  All Rights Reserved by Divorce Mistakes Network, LLC